Monday, November 18, 2013

INEC: Anambra Election Inconclusive

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has refused to
declare All Progressives Grand Alliance's Chief William Obiano winner
of the Anambra gubernatorial election with majority votes of 174,710,
stating the election was inconclusive. The PDP polled 94956 while the
APC had 92300.
Making this known this morning at 6 am, the Returning Officer, Prof
James Epoke, who is also Vice-Chancellor, University of Calabar
(UNICAL), declared that a supplementary election would be conducted at
a date to be fixed by the electoral umpire, where the election was
He said that the total numbers of cancelled votes was more than the
difference between the numbers of votes cast for the winner and the
runner up of this election according to the state INEC official who
read the results at about 6am Monday morning.
Obiano polled 174,710 votes to come first, the first runner-up,
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Comrade Tony Nwoye polled
94,956 votes to place second, while the Dr. Chris Ngige of APC had
Because the difference in the figures between the first two
candidates, which is 79,754 is less than the cancelled votes, which
113,113, the commission could not declare anybody the winner.
A total of 1,763,751 voters were registered for the election, while
451,826 were accredited. Total valid votes was 413,005, while total
number of rejected votes was 16,544.
Total votes cast was 429,549. Out of the cancelled votes, 89,997 were
from Idemili North Local Government Area alone, and additional 636
from two units in Idemili South.
APGA won in 16 of the 21 local government areas, APC won in two, PDP
won in two, while LP won one.
The announcement began at about 12.40am. All the local government
collation officers were professors or senior staff of Unversity of
A date for the supplementary election will be fixed after the
commission must have met, it was announced.
The commission will arrange a supplementary election in those areas
where election was cancelled, Prof Epoke said.
He added that all the parties that participated in last Saturday's
election will participate in the supplementary election.
In Aguata, APC scored 5,275 votes, APGA polled 10,180, PDP got 4,275
votes, while LP polled 1,129. There were 24,883 accredited voters in
Aguata, 23,452 votes were valid.
In Ayamelum, APC polled 1,827; APGA scored 9,121; PDP got 5,681 and LP
(624). Total valid votes was 17,449.
In Anambra East, APC 1,418; APGA (15,300), PDP (5,579) and LP (511).
Total valid votes cast was 23,315.
In Anambra West, APC scored 2,478; APGA (5,128), PDP (3966) and LP (321).
In Anaocha, APC polled 3,174, APGA (14,563), PDP (2,948) and LP (733).
A ballot box was snatched at Unit 016, Obiamaka Primary School, it was
In Awka North, APC scored 1,712 votes, APGA (5,385), PDP (3,943) and
LP 474. In Awka South, APC polled 6,596, APGA (9,206), PDP (5,689) and
LP (1,648).
PDP scored the highest number of votes in Dunukofia, followed by APGA
(3,670), APC (3,522) and LP (1,236).
APGA polled the highest number of votes in Ekwusigo (6,815), followed
by PDP (4,426), APC (2,958) and LP (1,692).
In Idemilli North, APC scored the highest number of votes (7,135),
followed by APGA (2,795), PDP (1,462) and LP (643).
The APC also led in Idemili North, where is scored 9,539 votes. APGA
polled 2,899; PDP scored 3,786 while LP got 1,021. In Ihiala, APC
scored 4,069; APGA (10,067), PDP (5,517) and LP (1,854).
APGA scored 10,753 votes in Njikoka. APC polled 4,585, PDP got 5,630
and LP scored 754.
In Nnewi North, LP led with 18,014 votes,
followed by APGA (4,846), APC (3,076) and PDP (1,942).
In Nnewi South, APGA led with 8,145, followed by PDP (3,031), APC
(2,676) and LP (2,214).
In Ogbaru, APGA polled 11,716. Others are: APC (7,687), PDP (6,114) and LP (95).
APGA scored 10,842 votes in Onitsha North. Other results are: APC
(7,616), PDP (4,947) and LP (776).
In Onitsha South, APGA led with 9,786 votes. Other results are: APC
(7,094), PDP (3,520) and LP (716). ¨The APGA led in Orumba North,
polling 9,161 votes, followed by PDP (4,567) and APC (3,343). In
Orumba South, APC scored 3,147.
Other results are: APGA (6,338), PDP (4,003) and LP (1,265). In Oyi,
PDP led with 9,123 votes, followed by APGA (6,994), APC (3,373) and LP

No comments:

Post a Comment