Thursday, September 12, 2013

Cabinet Reshuffle: Maku to Oversee Defense, Wike as Interim Education Minister

Following announcement of the sack of nine serving ministers by President
Goodluck Jonathan, some Ministers has been deployed to supervise the
affairs of the ministries headed by the sacked Ministers
pending the appointment of a new capable hand.
The Ministers given additional responsibilities are:
Information Minister, Labaran Maku, to supervise Ministry of Defense
Minister of State for Education, Nyesom Wike, to oversee the Ministry of
Minister of State for Niger Delta Development, Darius Ishaku, to oversee the
Ministry of Environment,
Minister of Solid Mineral Development, Musa Sada, to oversee the Ministry of
Lands, Housing and Urban Development
Minister of Communication Technology, Omobola Johnson, to oversee the
Ministry of Science and Technology
Minister of state, Works, Bashir Yuguda, was assigned to oversee the
Ministry of National Planning
Ministers of Agriculture, Akinwumi Adesina Ministers of Power, Chinedu
Nebo takes charge of their ministries pending appointment of new Ministers
of state.
This directive was given through the office of the Secretary to the
Government of the Federation, SGF, Anyim Pius Anyim.
Information Minister, Labaran Maku made this known while briefing
Journalists after the weekly meeting of the Federal Executive Council (FEC)
Maku quoted Mr. President as thanking the sacked Ministers for their service
to their fatherland, and saying he would continue to engage them in "the
implementation of the Transformation Agenda".
He further said President Jonathan assures that the removal of the Ministers
has no political undertone but rather it was necessary that the "government is
retooled from time to time to bring new lease of life to an administration".
The nine Ministers sacked were Ministers of Foreign Affairs, Olugbenga
Ashiru; Education, Ruqqayatu Rufai; National Planning, Shamsudeen Usman;
Land and Urban Development, Ama Pepple; Environment, Hadiza Mailafia;
Science and Technology, Ita Ewa; Minister of State for Defence, Olusola
Obada; Minister of State for Power, Zainab Kuchi; and Minister of State for
Agriculture, Tijjani Bukar.

No comments:

Post a Comment